Skip navigation

I was the youngest.

The youngest is meant to be the golden child, hero, the adventurer.

Well.

I was adventurous…

 

See – when it happened, he was the only one who realised.   My brother, I mean.   Not that he knew the full story, but he saw something was different, something in me was darker, more deadly – more deathly.   Siblings know that shit.   I don’t know if it’s instinctive or ingrained, but he knew.   Straight away.   And while he was out working the fields by day, I was out at nights at usual – but not after wine and mischief anymore.   What I wanted now was bloodier in both respects and Amelia fucking loved taking me out to play.   And he knew.

Crazy thing is, no-one believed him.   Can you believe they said crap like ‘I’d grow out of it’? – even back then, same old tired platitudes to contain and control misunderstood evil.   But of course, to grow out of something you have to be able to grow.   And I was always going to be the youngest from here on out.

And while I played, he burned.   And while I played, he planned.   And one night after playing, he met me at the theshold of the family home with a scythe and my own blood lust reflected in his eyes.   The reaper waiting for grim justice and the demise of villainy and monstrosity.   It was as it should be.

But I was faster.   And hungrier.   And unlike him? – I didn’ t hesitate.

That wasn’t how it was meant to end – the fratricide should have been reversed.   It was finally the older brother’s chance to be a hero, to save the family, to rid the world – to make the first kill.

Funny how things turn out though, isn’t it?

 

NEXT ENTRY…

5 Comments

  1. “same old tired platitudes to control and contain misunderstood evil”
    I’ve told you many times, ’tis absolutely brilliant writing. I find myself falling into your story. The kind of reading where everything around one just ceases to exist, and the words create a trance-like state of being.. You continue to impress me, my friend.. Yes, you do.

    • Don’t fall too far, friend. You might have trouble clawing your way back out, and I hear that dangerous things live down in the dark here…

  2. I heard once that blood is thicker than water… and much tastier.

  3. You won’t like it, but I’m shedding a small tear for you. There now, I’ve wiped it away. Back to reading.


Leave a Reply

