Skip navigation

Here’s the thing about immortality.   Listen up, kiddies.   Lots of things become dull, dreary, soul-destroyingly (if I had one) usual.   Pick a synonym, and magnify your own petty little experience of the mundane by, say, a few hundred years.   People are all the same, places all look alike, the same old shit happens over and over, decade in and decade out; and for me? – the whole fucking school life just gets a little more crowded and out of control each year.   Okay – so at least that keeps it interesting.

However – when something happens that is actually up and out of the ordinary in the jaded circle of non-existence, you don’t second guess.  

There was no doubt that particular night.   My eyesight is perfect – and I saw an eye.   In my ceiling.

And in five centuries, that is something new.   And there are very few creatures in the world who have ever ever managed to surprise me.   The Cat was one.   Brix was another…   But only one dark monster managed to crawl back from death, and then introduce me to vampirism, and then crawl back from death.   Again.   I knew – knew without needing more – exactly who was living so disturbingly, destructively ‘close to home’.   You see, I can answer the whole ‘who watches the watchers?’ conundrum.   Only her.   Amelia has always been over my head and one up on me – and she’d taken it literally this time.

In the meantime (and the emphasis here is on ‘mean’) Py was in town and out for blood.   Er.   Okay.   Moreso than usual.   He wanted Amelia: he knew she was near somewhere, and he wanted to see her.   Preferably in pieces.

And I now knew precisely where she was.   Right above our heads.

And for a few days – I did nothing.   Just my usual routine, the eternal cycle of mundane time-fillers as yet another holiday season approached.   I didn’t say anything to Py.   I didn’t even take time to consider what I’d seen.

And in my apartment in the meantime – I just didn’t look up.

(Emphasis here is now on ‘I still have no fucking idea what that might mean’, but then? – I simply knew it couldn’t last for long.)

 

NEXT ENTRY

6 Comments

  1. OMG… creepy ~shiver~

  2. pretty good writing here. Keep going ^^

    • Six months after beginning this, I’ve been described as many things. Pretty has rarely been one of them.

  3. How can you not look up?! How can you leave her there without worry?! Ugh…. Keep your friends close and your enemies closer I suppose…

    • Oh – that was only the first few days. Initial reaction. Didn’t stay that way for long…

  4. You killed her.. (again)
    Tell me you did…
    I just hate that bitch for no apparent reason….
    She’s one of the bad things you read about and just want “dead”, I guess…

    Oh, and by the way, “Six months after beginning this” I dare say you are one of the best morbid and dark writers, and overall, the most interesting person I had the honour of reading about…

    Enough.


Leave a Reply

